Strategic Diary 9

I did some research from internet. I found a director who I am really interested in is Quentin Tarantino. Although he is a director, not a camera man, in his most films, I found a lot of screen which I can learn for my position in our group.

Born in Tennessee in 1963, Quentin Tarantino moved to California at age 4. His love of movies led to a job in a video store, during which time he wrote the scripts for True Romanceand Natural Born Killers. Tarantino’s directorial debut came with 1992’s Reservoir Dogs, but he received widespread critical and commercial acclaim with Pulp Fiction (1994), for which he won an Academy Award for best screenplay. Subsequent features included Jackie Brown(1997), Kill Bill: Vol. 1 (2003) and Vol. 2 (2004) and Grindhouse (2007). Tarantino earned several award nominations for Inglourious Basterds (2009) and Django Unchained (2012), the latter garnering him a second Oscar win for best screenplay. (Biography 2015)

In the ‘Kill bill’, there is a long tracking shot is very famous. It is a good example of our project. Here is the link of the example: <https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UFCb-iYTSg0 >.  In this screen, there is one shot and this is a very difficult thing. Because it need a good communication in the whole crew. Director need to tell the movement to the camera man. And director of photography need to arrange the movement of actors. All of them need to do all things correctly then it can make a good screen.

In our project, our director also want to make these kind of screen. Long screen shot can let screen looks more smooth and audience will enjoy it. Our project is a dancing show. Dancing has a set of posture and movement. We have to make a long tracking shot for it. If we do not do that, it is really hard to do the editing work. So I have to see the dancing at first. And director tell me the screen which he wants to get from this dancing. When I receive the idea from the director, as the main camera man, I need to arrange the photography in my mind and try my best to make it come true. It is a good chance to do the new thing for me. I learned a lot of experience from it.

 

REF:

Biography.com Editors, 2018, ‘Quentin Tarantino Biography’, The Biography.com website, 16 October 2018, <https://www.biography.com/people/quentin-tarantino-9502086&gt;

Youtube video, ‘Kill bill, long tracking shot’ <https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UFCb-iYTSg0&gt;

Leave a comment