Trouble in Melbourne

In this project, our team did a great job. For my part, it is not a easy one. For the premiere work, our footage is the different kind of photos, so it can be ordered easily. However, the different part is finalizing the photos. When we shoot these photos, we made a whole video instead of taking the pictures one by one. Then we can screenshot from the video but we took a lot of screenshots that is why we can not finalize the photo quickly. If we can take the pictures one by one follow the script, it will save a lot of time to do the other thing.  The most difficult and complex thing is subtitles. Because this video is made by pictures, it is still. We do not want to do another still subtitle in it. It will make this video looks so boring. So I decided to add some bubbles in the video which can move a little bit. If I want to make it, I have to use After Effects. It is not an easy work. I used a model to make this effect. When I did the first draft for the subtitles and put it in the Premiere, the other problems was coming. For example, the script is too long. The audiences do not have enough time to read the whole subtitle and the picture. The bubble’s shape did not match to the character, so I have to adjust it. I have made 39 AE subtitles in the first draft and 7 more in the second draft and 6 more in the final one.

Social Media is also a difficult part. Promotion can not be done easily. Despite we created the Facebook account, Ins account and Twitter account and keep updating. However, it can not let many people know it. So I found the Facebook of SBS Mandarin. I want to let them help us to promote it. At first, we had a good communication.  I send our group information to them and they asked me ‘ Do you want to make a promotion in Mandarin?’. When I answered them ‘Yes’ , they never give me any feedback about it. That makes me confused. Then we make some posters to put them around RMIT city campus for promoting.

Leave a comment